Public Works - Planning -- Business Licensing
To Pay for your License Please Call 385-468-6700
Select option 1 and ask for a Cashier.
Select option 3 if you have questions about your license.
Businesses must perform the following actions before obtaining a license:
Please review the material carefully so you can assess and identify which local, state, and federal requirements are necessary for your business.
- Register your business name and entity type (corporation, sole proprietorship, etc.) by filing Articles of Incorporation, Articles of Organization, Certificate of Partnership, or Doing Business As application with the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Corporations and Commercial Code.
- Most businesses will need to obtain a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) with the Internal Revenue Service in the event a corporation, limited liability company, limited partnership, limited liability partnership, OR sole proprietor with employees is being created.
- Check with the Department of Commerce Utah Department of Licensing to see if your business requires a special state license (e.g. contractors, accounting, food handling, etc.)
- Apply for and obtain a Sales and Use Tax License from the Utah State Tax Commission if you will be selling goods or products in the state OR if you do not make retail sales, you purchase goods or services tax-free from vendors outside Utah for storage, use or consumption by you in Utah.
- Apply for and obtain an Employee Income Tax Withholding Number from the Utah State Tax Commission if you will have employees.
- Apply for and obtain an Unemployment Insurance Employer Identification Number from the Department of Workforce Services if you will have employees.
- Register with Utah Department of Environmental Quality Utah Department of Environmental Quality (if necessary).
- Verify the working status of your employees with the Department of Homeland Security if you employ over 15 people. More information is available on the How To page.
- Check zoning requirements to make sure your business type is allowed in your zone. Check the County's zoning map and ordinances.
- Apply for and obtain a business license by bringing all of the above information and the proper business license forms to the Planning and Development Services office located at 2001 South State Street #N3600. Each and every business outlet will require a separate business license.
25% Penalty Fee will be applied after 30 days past due of the license renewal date.
100% Penalty Fee will be applied after 60 days past due of the license renewal date.