Javascript is required to view this site. Skip to main content
Text:    -   | Translate

FEMA Floodplain Maps

If you need contact information for floodplain managers other than Salt Lake County, please contact the Utah State floodplain Manager (801) 538-3332

Salt Lake County participates in FEMA's National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The program requires participating communities to enact ordinances that:

  • protect the natural floodplain environment
  • prevent damage to property or protect public safety.

FEMA maintains floodplain delineations on a set of maps called Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM). Mortgage companies are required to determine if a property they are financing is located within the 1% annual chance floodplain (any zone designation beginning with the letter A). If so the mortgage company can require the buyer to obtain flood insurance.

A buyer can complete an "Elevation Certificate" and submit it to FEMA for review and determination if they wish to challenge a Mortgage Company's determination. FEMA's website.

FEMA last released new Digital Flood Insurance Rate Maps (DFIRMs) effective September 25, 2009 and several revised maps effective August 2, 2012. These maps are available to view at our office or on the Public Works Interactive Map (expand the NFHL layer group at the bottom of the layer list). Anyone may purchase a Flood Insurance Rate Map from FEMA through the “ Map Service Center”. These maps include revisions to Big & Little Cottonwood Creek Flood Zones as well as new Detailed floodplain Information for the Big & Little Willow Creek Flood Zones.

FEMA does not allow government entities to make determinations except as required for government business. Three items are needed to make a determination:

  • Map Number
  • Map Date
  • Zone Designation

Insurance Determinations

FEMA does not allow local governments to make insurance determinations. Please do not ask for a determination from Salt Lake County.