Skip to main content
Text Size:  A - A

March 20, 2019

Mayor Jenny Wilson Announces New Executive Staff Members

Chloe Morroni - Email
(385) 468-7027 office (385) 261-9301 cell

Salt Lake City, UT— Mayor Jenny Wilson announced today the appointments of two executive staff members as part of her newly reorganized administration.

Catherine Kanter as the Deputy Mayor of Regional Operations and Mike Reberg as the Associate Deputy Mayor of Regional Operations.

Deputy Mayor Kanter comes to Salt Lake County after most recently leading and managing the successful state-wide redistricting ballot initiative campaign, Better Boundaries/Proposition 4.

She was previously an equity partner with the law firm of Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg in Chicago, where she specialized in the fields of commercial real estate and finance.

Kanter’s experience in the local political arena includes having run for the Salt Lake County Council At-Large seat in 2016, serving as an elected representative on the Granite Community Council and as a Land Planning Commissioner on the Salt Lake County Mountainous Planning Commission.

Associate Deputy Mayor Reberg is no stranger to Salt Lake County Government, having served here previously.

Reberg has twenty-five years of experience in government including more than 10 in Congress and 15 in local government.

Reberg most recently acted as the Department Director for Salt Lake City Community and Neighborhoods. Prior to that, Reberg was the Division Director for Salt Lake County Animal Services. He also served as the Assistant Director of Public Works for Salt Lake County.

The appointments of Kanter and Reberg are pending consent of the Salt Lake County Council on March 26, 2019.

Regional Operations will focus on services including economic development, regional transportation and planning, housing and homeless services along with environmental services.

Mayor Jenny Wilson announced her reorganization in a news release on Tuesday, March 12, 2019. The reorganization streamlines management by changing the structure from four Deputy Mayors to three. This provides management efficiencies and further clarity within the overall structure.