Javascript is required to view this site. Skip to main content
Text:    -   | Translate

About Us

About Us

Improving Lives Through People, Parks and Play

Salt Lake County Parks and Recreation was created as a result of civic-minded citizens who wanted to coordinate recreation activities throughout the County, build more park space, trails infrastructure, and manage the rapid growth of recreation programs for the benefit of county residents. 

As a result, Salt Lake County Parks and Recreation was formed on May 11, 1946. Ten days later, the organization dedicated its first park, Evergreen Park, located in Millcreek City. 

Over the past 75 years, the division has grown in size and scope, now managing and maintaining 103 parks, 6 golf courses, over 20 recreation facilities, as well as trails and open space — staying true to our mission:

Improving Lives Through People, Parks and Play.

Annual Reports

2021 Annual Report2021 Annual Report (8.6 MB)

View Report

2020 annual report cover

2020 Annual Report (14.4 MB)

View Report

2019 annual report cover

2019 Annual Report (12.6 MB)

View Report


Our Leadership Team

Division Director
Martin Jensen

Associate Division Director of Community Engagement 
Liz Sollis

Associate Division Director of Fiscal Operations
Andrew Keddington

Associate Division Director of Golf
Jerry Brewster

Associate Division Director of Parks, Trails, and Open Space
Patrick Leary

Associate Division Director of Planning & Development
Walt Gilmore

Associate Division Director of Recreation 
Doranne Pittz


Communications & PR Manager
Sean Bailey

Communications Manager
Josh Reusser

Executive Assistant
Andrea DePaz

Human Resources Manager
Melissa Lugo

Recreation Section Manager
Eliza Schofield

Special Projects Manager
Jan Donchess

Special Services Manager
Julie Peck-Dabling

Parks & Recreation
2001 South State Street  S4-700
Salt Lake City, UT 84190
Phone: (385) 468-1800
Hours: Mon - Fri 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM