Javascript is required to view this site. Skip to main content

Meeting Schedule

  • January 18, 2024
  • February 15, 2024
  • March 21, 2024
  • April 25, 2024
  • May 16, 2024
  • June 20, 2024
  • July 18, 2024
  • August 15, 2024
  • September 19, 2024
  • October 17, 2024
  • November 21, 2024
  • December 19, 2024

Salt Lake Valley Law Enforcement Service Area
3365 South 900 West  
Salt Lake City, UT 84119
Phone: (385) 468-9671

Public Meetings and Agendas

The Salt Lake Valley Law Enforcement Service Area (SLVLESA) is a Limited Purpose Entity—Local District under Title 17B of the Utah Code. SLVLESA includes the following member entities:

  • Unincorporated Salt Lake County
  • Magna Metro Township
  • Kearns Metro Township
  • Copperton Metro Township
  • Emigration Canyon Metro Township
  • White City Metro Township
  • Town of Brighton

SLVLESA levies property taxes within its jurisdiction for law enforcement services and manages the funding for such services to its member entities. SLVLESA contracts with the Unified Police Department of Greater Salt Lake (UPD) for all law enforcement services in SLVLESA.  

SLVLESA is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of nine Trustees with three Trustees appointed by the Salt Lake County Council and six appointed by the legislative body of each of the other member entities. The day to day operations of SLVLESA are managed by the Salt Lake County Sheriff, as Chief Executive Officer and a staff that includes a District Administrator, Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer and Office Coordinator (Clerk).

SLVLESA is based on the premise that law enforcement services is provided more efficiently and effectively, both in costs and operations, if entities join together and share in providing such services to its residents.

Unincorporated Salt Lake CountyMagna Metro TownshipKearns Metro Township

Copperton Metro TownshipEmigration Canyon Metro TownshipWhite City Metro Township

Town of Brighton