Skip to main content

Metro Township Initiatives

Salt Lake County provides economic development advice to Magna, Kearns, Copperton, White City, Emigration Canyon, and the unincorporated parts of the County.

The following initiatives are related to that activity:


Metro Townships contract with Salt Lake County through the Municipal Services District. And while there is some level of autonomy, local township councils do not have the authority to impose utility taxes nor the ability to directly spend taxpayer dollars. While sales tax rates are determined by the Metro Township council, revenues are collected and expended by the Municipal Services District, which is governed by a board, comprised of the Mayors of the Metro Townships and a county council representative.

In January 2017, five townships transitioned to metro townships: Copperton, Emigration Canyon, Kearns, Magna, and White City. While there are certainly commonalities between and across these metro townships, each is unique. From demographic make-up to unique assets and geographies, each metro township is a unique community that needs a specific plan.

The MSD serves its member communities and the residents in each town, metro township and unincorporated areas.

The MSD contracts with agencies to provide Public Works, Animal Services, Planning and Development, Engineering, Parks, Justice Courts, Municipal Prosecution and Indigent Legal Services. The District’s Board of Trustees contracts with Salt Lake County for most services.

Metro townships are independent municipalities that are members of the MSD. The MSD is the service provider and they oversee all contracts with agencies to provide the services.