Javascript is required to view this site. Skip to main content
Text:    -   | Translate

Board of Health


The Salt Lake County Board of Health sets public health policy for the health department and may adopt and enforce public health rules, regulations, and standards necessary to implement the public health policies. Standards and regulations adopted by the Board of Health supersede existing local standards, regulations, and ordinances.

The Board of Health meets at:

Salt Lake County Government Center
Room N2-800 (north building, second floor)
2001 South State Street
Salt Lake City

Meetings are the 1st Thursday of each month
(there is generally no meeting in July)
from 7:30 to 9:00 a.m.


Salt Lake County Board of Health
PO Box 144575
2001 South State Street, Suite S2-600
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4757
385-468-4156 /


The Board of Health consists of 15 members from a variety of fields. Board members are appointed by the Salt Lake County Mayor and serve three-year terms, which can be renewed once.

Board Members

  • Russell Booth, Chair
  • Councilman Arlyn Bradshaw
  • Scott Brown
  • Michele Corigliano
  • Dr. William Cosgrove, Immediate Past Chair
  • Mayor Robert Dahle
  • Kalina Duncan, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Roderic Land
  • Lavanya Mahate
  • Leticia Medina
  • Mimi Shen
  • Dr. Ruedi Tillmann
  • Dr. Dorothea Verbrugge, 1st Vice Chair


The Salt Lake County Environmental Quality Advisory Committee (EQAC) advises the Salt Lake County Board of Health and Health Department on environmental issues.

EQAC 2020 Meetings

January 9
March 12
May 14
July 9
September 10
November 12

Meetings are from 7:30 to 9:00 a.m.

EQAC meets at:

Environmental Health Division
788 East Woodoak Lane (5380 South)
Murray, UT 84107

385-468-3872 /


  • Renette Anderson
  • L. Scott Benson
  • Joel Briscoe
  • Scott Brown, Chair
  • Catherine Burns
  • Shireen Ghorbani
  • Phillip Heck
  • Linda Johnson
  • Deborah Lyons
  • Ashley Miller
  • Chris Nelson
  • Piper Rhodes
  • Michael Shea
  • Ted Sonnenburg

Salt Lake County Health Department
General Information  
Phone: (385) 468-4100

2020 Meeting Schedule

January 2
February 6
March 5
April 2
May 7
June 4
No July meeting
August 6
September 3
October 1
November 5
December 3